Check Out Our Sports Photo Galleries Contact Us
Local youth sports activities abound in Sparks
by Tribune Staff
Apr 29, 2010 | 10160 views | 0 0 comments | 16 16 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Tribune/John Byrne - T-ball is one of the many sports leagues available for young people to enjoy in the Sparks area.
Tribune/John Byrne - T-ball is one of the many sports leagues available for young people to enjoy in the Sparks area.
slideshow
Below is a list of athletic activities offered to Sparks area youths. The list does not include every club or program, but it is a start. Some listings have more information than others, depending on what we could gather.

If you would like to e-mail us a listing for our next publication, send that to sports editor Dan Eckles at deckles@dailysparkstribune.com.

Baseball and softball

Sparks National Little League. Website: www.eteamz.com/sparksbaseball/. E-mail: sparksnational@yahoo.com

Games played at: Shadow Mountain Park, 3300 Sparks Blvd., Sparks, NV 89431; and Golden Eagle Regional Park, 6490 Vista Blvd., Sparks, NV 89436

Cal Ripken Baseball League. Website: www.calripkenbb.com. Address: 9732 State Route 445, PMB357, Sparks, NV 89441. Contact: President Damon’O’Connell at 690-3475 or dsoc10@sbcglobal.net

Sparks Fastpitch Softball Association. Website: sparksfastpitch.com. Address: P.O. Box 100, Sparks, NV. E-mail: sparksfastpitch@hotmail.com.

Soccer

Sparks AYSO youth soccer

www.sparksayso.org

331.3131

info@sparksayso.org

Basketball

Jam On It Academy. E-mail: jamonit.org. Phone: 530-5446. E-mail: jamonitreno@sbcglobal.net

Offers lessons, camps/clinics and travel teams

Nevada Basketball Academy. Phone: 284-6677. E-mail: jglover@nbareno.com

Offers camps/clinics private individual and group lessons

Football and

cheerleading

Sparks Pop Warner. Website: www.eteamz.com/SPARKSPOPWARNER/. E-mail: sparkspw@aol.com. Phone: 626-3232

Games played at Golden Eagle Regional Park, 6400 Vista Blvd., Sparks NV 89436

Local youth football league for kids ages 5 to 15

Sierra Youth Football League. Website: gosyfl.teampages.com. Phone: 284-0220

Games played at northern Nevada high schools

Sierra Youth Football League of Northern Nevada. Address: P.O. Box 17168, Reno, NV 89511-9986.

Local youth football league for kids ages 6 to 14

Golf

First Tee of Northern Nevada. Website: www.tftnn.org. Phone: 851-2332. E-mail: info@tftnn.org

FTNN is a nonprofit organization that teaches young golfers life skills, including honesty, respect, confidence and sportsmanship through the game of golf.

Northern Nevada Jr. Golf Association. Website: nnjga.org. Phone: 787-5710

Provides junior golfers 7-to-17 in northern Nevada and the surrounding areas an opportunity to experience competitive golf.

Gymnastics

Gymnastics Nevada. Website: gymnasticsnevada.com. Phone: 355-7755. E-mail: info@gymnasticsnevada.com.

Classes and competitions for toddlers to teens

Flips USA Gymnastics. Website: flipsusagymnastics.com. Phone: 359-2232

Lacrosse

The Lacrosse Zone. Website: www.thelacrossezone.com. E-mail: hogan@thelacrossezone.com

Swimming

Sparks Piranhas. Website: sparkspiranhas.com. Phone: 815-SWIM. E-mail: webmaster@sparkspiranhas.com

Skiing

Sky Tavern Junior Ski Program. Website: www.skytavern.com. Phone: 323-5125. E-mail: info@skytavern.com.

Wrestling

Team Nevada Wrestling. Website: USANevada-leaguelineup.com. Phone: 745-4603. E-mail: brett1120@msn.com

Offers free training facility, coaching, travel teams, offseason regional and national events, for ages 4 and up.

Miscellaneous

Sparks YMCA. Website: ymcasierra.startlogic.com. Phone: 323-9622.

Offers summer camps and youth sports including basketball, flag football, soccer and T-ball

Sparks Parks and Recreation. Website: www.ci.sparks.nv.us/living/parks_rec/. Phone: 353-2376

Offers youth athletic programs in baseball, basketball, football, golf, soccer, tennis, track and field and volleyball.
Comments
(0)
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Featured Businesses