Check Out Our Sports Photo Galleries Contact Us
County food policy council members selected
by Tribune Staff
Apr 05, 2012 | 940 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print
RENO — Ten members of the new Washoe County Food Policy Council have been selected in efforts to improve networking, collaboration and promotion of access to healthy foods in Washoe County.

The new Food Policy Council members are: Amber Sallaberry, representing food distribution; Ann Louhela, representing food production; Barbara Scott, representing public food programs; Haley Anderton-Folmer, representing community planning; Kimothy L. Smith, representing data and surveillance; Lisa Hill, representing food preparation; Ty Whitaker, representing consumers; and members at large Kristi Jameson, Kerry Seymour and Ron Wix. The first meeting of the new Food Policy Council is slated for 6 p.m. May 17, at 1001 E. Ninth St., Building B, in Reno.

The Washoe County Food Policy Council was established to strategize implementation of the Washoe County food plan, “Access to Health Food in Washoe County: A Framework for Food System Design.”

“Community heath indicators, such as diabetes, hypertension, obesity and other chronic conditions, are strongly tied to nutrition,” said Washoe County Health District Chronic Disease Prevention Program Coordinator Erin Dixon. “So a comprehensive approach to improving nutrition in a community must include not only individual behavior change through education, but also improvements in the food environment and the delivery system. ”

Food Policy Council members will serve two-year terms and are expected to participate in at least one potential subcommittee of the council that will generate a work plan with specific goals.

For more information, contact Erin Dixon at 328-2442 or by e-mail at
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Featured Businesses