Check Out Our Sports Photo Galleries Contact Us
6 finalists named for UNR presidency
by Tribune Staff
Apr 03, 2012 | 1489 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
RENO — The Nevada System of Higher Education Board of Regents has narrowed the search for a new president for the University of Nevada, Reno to six candidates, officials announced Tuesday.

The finalists include a university provost from Ohio, a former professor from the University of Texas at Dallas, a former dean of the Johns Hopkins University business school, the interim president of UNR Marc Johnson, a provost and executive vice president of Oregon State University and president of the Desert Research Institute, Stephen Wells.

“The University of Nevada, Reno is a vibrant, public university, with a growing national reputation and a long-standing history of service to our state,” said James Dean Leavitt, a member of the Board of Regents and chair of the Regents’ Presidential Search Committee. “We are looking for a visionary leader to guide the university to the next echelon of quality and national visibility. These candidates bring strong academic, research and administrative experience, and we appreciate their interest in this vitally important role.”

The finalists will be invited to participate in a series of campus forums on April 13, 16 and 17 to allow faculty, staff, students and the community to meet them and provide input to the search process.

The search for the university’s next president is conducted with two committees that meet jointly and in accordance with Nevada’s open meeting law, according to UNR’s media department.

The Presidential Search Committee includes six members of the NSHE Board of Regents. The Institutional Advisory Committee includes 11 representatives of the community and 12 representatives of University of Nevada, Reno faculty, staff and students.

The two committees will meet Thursday in the Joe Crowley Student Union Ballroom, starting at 1 p.m., to discuss the finalists and review their résumés. The committees will then reconvene at 9 a.m. April 18 at Lawlor Events Center to hear from the search consultant regarding the forums and conduct interviews with the finalists. At that meeting, the Presidential Search Committee could select a candidate to recommend to the full NSHE Board of Regents for consideration.

The UNR president reports to the chancellor of the NSHE.

The candidates are:

Steven Roger Angle, provost of Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio. Angle previously served as dean of the College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences and director of the Agricultural and Natural Resources Program at the University of California, Riverside.

Rachel Toni Algaze Croson, division director of the Division of Social and Economic Sciences, part of the National Science Foundation’s Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences Directorate. Croson serves in this role while on leave from the University of Texas at Dallas, where she served as professor and director of The Negotiations Center, a joint appointment between the School of Management and the School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences.

Yash P. Gupta, president and chief executive officer of SDP Telecom, Inc. Gupta previously served as dean of the Johns Hopkins University Carey Business School.

Marc Johnson, interim UNR president. Johnson previously served as executive vice president and provost at the university.

Sabah U. Randhawa, provost and executive vice president of Oregon State University. Randhawa previously served as vice provost for academic affairs and international programs at Oregon State.

Stephen G. Wells, president of Desert Research Institute. Wells previously served as executive director of DRI’s Quaternary Sciences Center.

For more information about the presidential search, visit
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Featured Businesses